1/11/09 The Train Station

I grew up in a town called “Danville” that had a fake train station. The actual railway is a paved pathway that goes a good long distance, but no trains. My grandparents (on my mom’s side) used to have a house that literally backed up to the railway, and when I moved to SLO, the sounds of the tracks and the whistle have always had a romantic quality because of these things.

SLO’s railway is legit.  I have ridden on the Pacific Surfliner, and I used to wave as it passed me when I was practicing lacrosse at Cal Poly.  It’s one of the many things that make up the character of the place.

Signage

Leave a Reply

